Book #4: Where’d You Go Bernadette? (Goal 50)

IMG_0303Where’d You Go, Bernadette!

By: Maria Semple

I picked up this book because I saw that a few people I was following on Instagram were reading this book and saying nothing but good things about it. I finished this book in record time. This book was in and out of my hands in a weeks time. I always read before I go to bed and I was finding that I was spending more time reading and reading later and later at night because I was so curious about what happens. This book had me laughing 30 pages in! I really enjoyed this book and would recommend this book to anyone that is looking for a fun easy read. It is written in a way that it is like a diary, emails, and the story about what happened. There were several funny scenes throughout the book. I really liked the characters that were created in the book their personalities truly came through in the situations and problems they were placed in.

Summary (Amazon):

Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she’s a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she’s a disgrace; to design mavens, she’s a revolutionary architect, and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom.

Then Bernadette disappears. It began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette’s intensifying allergy to Seattle–and people in general–has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands. A trip to the end of the earth is problematic.

To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, secret correspondence–creating a compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.

Peace and Love

Leave a Reply

