Book Review: “The Storyteller”

So I have not posted on here recently because we are in the home stretch of the school year. I am counting down the days till summer (12 instructional days.) My birthday was in March and I got some wonderful gifts from my parents. I LOVE to knit and I like to buy higher end yarns which need to be placed on a winder to be spun by hand or electrically. So my parents knowing this got me the yarn winder from Knit Picks. The other gift i got was a book! I LOVE TO READ! I LOVE JODI PICOULT! I saw her new book had come out just before my birthday and knew it was something I must have. Plus the added bonus is that it is intertwined with  WW2 references! Those of you that don’t know me so well, I went to Germany for 4 months to student teach. That was my 2nd trip to Europe. I visited a concentration camp while I was in high school on a choir trip. Even though this was a hard part of history, I love reading about all of the stories people have about their lives (fiction and nonfiction) during this time period.

Book Review: The Storyteller

Summary from Amazon:

Some stories live forever . . . Sage Singer is a baker. She works through the night, preparing the day’s breads and pastries, trying to escape a reality of loneliness, bad memories, and the shadow of her mother’s death. When Josef Weber, an elderly man in Sage’s grief support group, begins stopping by the bakery, they strike up an unlikely friendship. Despite their differences, they see in each other the hidden scars that others can’t, and they become companions.

Everything changes on the day that Josef confesses a long-buried and shameful secret—one that nobody else in town would ever suspect—and asks Sage for an extraordinary favor. If she says yes, she faces not only moral repercussions, but potentially legal ones as well. With her own identity suddenly challenged, and the integrity of the closest friend she’s ever had clouded, Sage begins to question the assumptions and expectations she’s made about her life and her family. When does a moral choice become a moral imperative? And where does one draw the line between punishment and justice, forgiveness and mercy?

In this searingly honest novel, Jodi Picoult gracefully explores the lengths we will go in order to protect our families and to keep the past from dictating the future.

Mine:

I LOVED THIS BOOK! The characters have very strong voices throughout the story. Jodi has done a wonderful job of intertwining different people from different walks of life to weave together a beautiful story. I really liked that when it was time for one of the characters to tell their side of the story it was entirely different section. (This section was the fastest read for me.) The ending of the book was a bit shocking but closed out the story rather nicely. I recommend this book for other people to read but tell them the one thing I wish I would have known before starting the book was that the italicized sections of the book is a story in and of itself. Once I figured that out (I was on page 200 and something) I really wanted to go back and read the entire story again. This is a book that will stay on my bookshelf and I will read again.

Hope you enjoy the book as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

